Van der Kemp Primary School

Van der Kemp Primary School is situated in the heart of Salt Lake Port Elizabeth. It was established in 1970 and was named after Dr. Johannes Van der Kemp.

The school was built as a temporary structure which was to be used for 10 years with the intention of been rebuilt. The first acting principal was Mr. Earnest Pullen who led the school till June 1970, during this time 1500 learners were enrolled.

Thereafter Mr. Ivan Potgieter was appointed as the principal in June 1970. He was the principal till he passed away in September 1986, succeeded by Mr. Adam Bailey, Mr. Easy Davids and current principal Mrs. Debbie Jephta.

There are currently 24 teachers who are part of the school staff establishment and this includes some who are in substitute posts. It is a dual medium school, which currently has 800 learners enrolled from grade R - 7.

We are a no fee, food scheme school catering not only to children residing in the immediate community but also those who stay outside of the community. Various sport codes are offered to learners and coordinated by teachers and organizations who coach our learners voluntarily.

Our vision is to provide a service excellence centre for basic quality education, training, equipped with learner & teacher friendly facilities and resources. Ensuring an educational, healthy and safe school environment that is not only conductive to learning, teaching, training but also community development.

© Khulasande Sports Development - 2022 | Links | Van der Kemp Primary School

Website Design and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) by ZAWebs Designs | Web Hosting by ZAWebs Hosting